Driving Lessons Wolverhampton

Learn With Alison

     Drive With Alison

          Pass With Alison!


Road Signs


Driving Lessons Wolverhampton


there are eight different categories of road signs:

  1. Danger warning signs
  2. Priority Signs
  3. Prohibitory or restrictive signs
  4. Mandatory Signs
  5. Special Regulation Signs
  6. Information, Facilities or Service Signs
  7. Direction, Position or Indication Signs
  8. Additional Panels

Colour Schemes:


Three main colour schemes are in play for direction signs.


      1.   A motorway (which is indicated by white on blue).

      2.   A primary route (indicated by white on dark green with route numbers in yellow).

      3.   A non-primary route (indicated by black on white). Trunk roads are signed as

            primary routes.


Easy to Remember:


There are so many road signs about that it can be confusing to figure out what they all mean.  But there is a quite simple way of remembering what the different types of signage mean.  As with any rule, there are always exceptions - but it's a good rule of thumb to go by if you can remember the following:








Signs with a red circular boarder are usually 'giving oders' and are mostly prohibitive.

Example: No cycling/maximum speed limit.









Signs with a red triangular border are usually warning signs.  Example: give way/roundabout ahead.






Signs with a blue circle but no red usually contain 'positive instruction'.  Example: One way arrows/cycle lane.









Signs on motorways mostly rectangular signs with blue background










Signs on primary routes with green background - directional.








Signs on non-primary and local routes - black borders - directional







Signs with yellow are usually advising of road works.





Brown signs usually indicate places of interest.  Example : Zoo/The Molineux/Millennium Stadium.




Click on the following link to view the Highway Code which gives details of all UK road signs and symbols:  www.dft.gov.uk/pgr/roadsafety/drs/highwaycode